My Acne Cure? 


My acne began in year 6 of primary school (11) and I really didn’t think much of it then but it started getting worse and worse and eventually starting scaring and the self esteem issues that this caused me was horrible. I remember at one point I couldn’t even look at people in the eyes because if they were staring at my face I wouldn’t want to know and find out because this would make me feel even worse. Here is a picture of my skin, I scribbled out my eyes and mouth and background just in case anyone were to screenshot it because it’s one of those things I want to put behind me.


Some of you may be thinking what’s this spoiled brat complaining about?! I have it way worse than her! Well I admire you, I wish I had your amount of confidence to not let a few spots get in my way.

A few months ago at my ripe old age of 14 I finally decided to do something about it, so off to the doctor I went. To be honest I bet he thought I was so pathetic but I don’t care, I’m just glad that my acne is gone.

So what did the doctor prescribe?

Differin cream 0.1% – dries out skin, helps to renew skin, prevents acne formation and is a synthetic form of vitamin A. 

For more information on differin visit this website 🙂


Clindamycin phosphate lotion – an antibiotic to be applied to the skin.

For more information on clindamycin click here 🙂


How to use these products

My doctor didn’t give me any instructions on how to use them so i googled it and followed the instructions and this worked pretty well for me.

Nighttime-

  1. Wash face with gentle cleanser
  2. Apply toner if needed and air dry for 10 minutes 
  3. Apply differin cream, a pea sized amount is all that is needed
  4. Wait for 2 minutes
  5. Apply clindamycin

Morning-

  1. Wash face with gentle cleanser
  2. Apply toner if needed 
  3. Apply any serum and/or eye cream
  4. Apply clindamycin
  5. Follow with your normal suncream and moisturiser for your skin type at the time.
  6. Continue with makeup routine

Waiting for 2 minutes has been shown to help with the absorption of clindamycin resulting in better and faster results.

How fast did it work?

It worked for me completely in 2 months, during the first 3 weeks I did experience dryness and some peeling but to combat this I used cetaphil and I also used an oat, honey, coconut oil and olive oil mask. This really helped calm down my skin and reduce dryness so that I could wear makeup as I pleased.

Where can you buy this?

Sadly you do need a prescription to be able to buy this but just go to your doctor and in 5 minutes you can have a prescription and your acne will be no more!

An update of my skin will be posted soon (morning) when the sun is out.

Here is the update of my skin, it is far from perfect and these close up coloured in pictures are creepier than I anticipated. You can see that my skin is acne free and my acne scars are going away day by day 🙂


I still do have acne scars but they are not as bad as they used to be. I have a certain product that I have been using that is supposed to essentially peel of my skin and help renew it but this will be in another post of mine.

Thank you for reading and if you have any  questions feel free to write them below and I will be sure to answer them for you 🙂

-Tash


5 thoughts on “My Acne Cure? 

Leave a Reply

